Ambulance air travel is divided up into three levels of care.

Basic Life Support

Basic life support is provided when there is no life-threatening danger anticipated. Patients are stable and have sufficient basic monitoring. Assistance from an ambulance nurse is sufficient. A maximum of two patients per flight can be transported.

Advanced Life Support

Advanced life support is provided when there is a greater risk of life-threatening complaints. Patients are recovering after serious internal, cardiological, and/or traumatic complaints. The patient is breathing normally and has stable blood pressure, but there is a need for an ECG and checks on blood pressure, respiration, and oxygen intake. For such transport it is necessary for a doctor and an IC nurse to be on board to provide care. A maximum of two lying patients can be transported together, but this depends on the diagnosis.

Intensive Care Support

This is the most extensive form of transport with a continual risk of disruption to vital functions. An intensive care specialist will be present during the journey. During the journey, the vital functions can be supported and taken over within the technical restrictions of a plane.

Ongoing schooling

All flying staff receive ongoing training for the specialist work on an air ambulance. The following items are stressed:

  • Air travel physiology and how people react to flying
  • Reanimation course and a follow-up course for experienced staff (ACLS)
  • Advanced paediatric life support
  • Fundamentical critical care support course
  • Crew member training
  • Infection, diseases, and hygiene

DAA has close links with some large academic hospitals, co-operating top clinical hospitals, and smaller hospitals for specialist care regarding infectious diseases, tropical medicine, paediatrics, and organ transplantations.